SunGreen web site - Lydney, Parkend, Newnham, Tidenham and nearby areas.

TAP or Click here to show or hide the MENU

Whitecroft football team in the 1956-1957 season.


Whitecroft 1956-1957 Season

1956/57 Officials

This Whitecroft team beat Pillowell at Lydney in the final of the Lydney Hospital Cup. Roy Morse was the captain.

Left to right: 1 Brian Saunders, 2 Geoff Jones, 3 Brian Evans, 4 Brian Jessop, 5 Colin Rosser, 6 (holding up captain) Don Hook, 7 Roy Morse (holding cup), 8 'Bubbles' Shingles (holding up captain), 9 ,10 11.

G Brown added (Jan 2010): "Tom Nelmes scored the winning goal but he is not on the photo ... other players missing are goalkeeper John Remnant and Micky Damsell ".

The Whitecroft A.F.C. officials for this season were:
President: G Aldridge,
Vice Presidents: E Evans, R Watkins, G Rudge, K Elsmore, F Wintour, J Allen,
Chairman: W Hawkins,
Vice Chairman: M Morse,
Treasurer: C Rosser,
Secretary: G Shingles.

Thanks also to G Brown.

If you wish to comment on this photo or can supply names of people please click here

WANTED: Old photos, old postcards, ephemera and memories of the Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire. U.K.- please click here to make contact.